A Wander At Wallington Hall

First of all, happy New Year! Happy 2016! Now of course the first thing you have to remember about the Christmas holidays is that you need to relax. After Christmas had passed by I had intended to start my school work and get it out of the way but then, as always, an opportunity arose to procrastinate and postpone the torturous work, as well as work off those mince pies. So the day after Boxing day my dad & I drove to the beautiful Wallington Hall. Driving up the road I saw people walking down by the river and felt most eager to do the same as I remembered walking down the same path with my Grandad almost 5 years ago when he still had the use of his legs. As I anticipated it was a lovely walk and was so peaceful- more so than I’d expected. The intention was to walk down to the river and then along to the stepping stones and then through the luscious walled garden back to the clock tower how this was made difficult to do because the stepping stones were just ever so slightly submerged…and I mean just a smidge. We turned back down the marshy path and instead followed the road and crossed over into the field to get back the house. It was a really nice day (aside from some cold soup) and I will treasure the memory.
At the start of the walk, Dad said to me, ‘Caitlin you’ll have to bare with me, I have a bad knee so you need to walk slower’. I however, replied saying that no matter how slow he would walk he’d still be in front of me because I would be taking lots of photos.
Speaking of photos, lets get on with this!

IMG_1508
Wallington Hall
IMG_1512
Hazey
IMG_1519
The Clock Tower
IMG_1527
Pond
IMG_1529
Cold.
IMG_1533
Keep Your Feet Dry
IMG_1561
Woodland Floor
IMG_1569
Tree Line
IMG_1572
Two Sheps
IMG_1578
Singular Shep
IMG_1584
Tree Line #2
IMG_1595
Hello! Guess Who?
IMG_1620
Two Little Posts
IMG_1624
Down By The River
IMG_1626
Where Is That Bridge?!
IMG_1629
Looking Back
IMG_1631
Confluence
IMG_1635
Mate, I’m Leaning!
IMG_1645
Lines
IMG_1649
Ugh I Think That’s A Bridge
IMG_1650
Yep It’s A Bridge
IMG_1653
Definitely A Bridge
IMG_1672
When Will My Reflection Show…
IMG_1679
Wallington Hall From Afar
IMG_1681
Hidden
IMG_1688
These Aren’t The Stepping Stones
IMG_1689
Longer Exposure Shot
IMG_1699
Swirling?
IMG_1704
Reflections
IMG_1705
Wallington Bridge
IMG_1723
Disappearing Into The Foliage
IMG_1729
Grand
IMG_1737
Purty
IMG_1740
Running Out Of Titles For This River…
IMG_1742
Uhhh…Winding?
IMG_1743
Rocky. Still Not The Stepping Stones
IMG_1758
Needed The Toilet At This Point
IMG_1762
The Front Of The Hall
IMG_1768
Clock Tower At Wallington

And now of course, because this is my first January 2016 post, it’s time for my Favourite Untranslatable Word: December 2015 (already weird…)

My favourite untranslatable December word- SAMAR, Arabic
This is a noun to embody ‘staying up late long after the sun has gone down and having an enjoyable time with friends’. I chose the word samar as it seemed appropriate for the current festive period as I highly suspect that many did this over the holiday season.
‘When you don’t notice the evening bleeding into the night, nor remember the fire changing from hot flames to barely there embers. When you talk for hours about nothing in particular, figure out the meaning of life, and likely drink too much to remember what it was the next morning.’ – Lost In Translation by Ella Frances Sanders.

I’m currently listening to- A Moment’s Grace by Boy & Bear

Until next time (and Happy New Year),
Caitlin X

Leave a Reply

